Agency Header

 Ethics Commission

​ ​    
          The West Virginia Ethics Commission enforces and administers the West Virginia Governmental Ethics Act, which is a code of conduct for appointed and elected public officials and employees. The Act is set forth at W. Va. Code §§ 6B-1-1 through 6B-3-11​.

          The Ethics Commission consists of nine members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Commission meets monthly and its Committees meet on an as-needed basis.  The Commission is supported by a staff of six full-time employees.  To view the Commission's organizational chart, click here​.​ 

          The Commission’s Committee on Open Governmental Meetings issues Advisory Opinions interpreting the Open Governmental Meetings Act, but neither the Committee nor the Commission have jurisdiction to enforce the Open Meetings Act. The Open Meetings Act is set forth at W. Va. Code §§ 6-9A-1 through 6-9A-12.

          To view the Commission's Annual Reports, click ​here.​

          ​To view the privacy notice utilized by the Ethics Commission, follow this link: