Minutes of the March 2, 2017 Meeting of the West Virginia Ethics Commission

The March 2, 2017, meeting of the West Virginia Ethics Commission was called to order in the Commission's office at 210 Brooks Street, Charleston, West Virginia, at 10:00 a.m. by Chairperson Robert J. Wolfe. Present in person at the meeting were Chairperson Wolfe and Commissioners Betty S. Ireland and Lawrence Tweel. Commissioners Karen Disibbio, Suzan Singleton and Monté Williams participated by telephone. Commissioner Terry Walker was absent. Executive Director Rebecca L. Stepto, General Counsel Kimberly B. Weber, Staff Attorney Theresa M. Kirk, Staff Attorney Derek A. Knopp and Special Assistant to the Executive Director M. Ellen Briggs, all from the Commission staff, were present.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe asked for approval of the February 2, 2017, Commission meeting minutes.

WHEREUPON, Commissioner Ireland made a motion to approve the minutes of February 2, 2017. Commissioner Tweel gave a second. The motion passed.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Stepto gave a recap of the previous month.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Ms. Kirk to present the Blind Trust Agreement submitted by James C. Justice, II.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Kirk presented the proposed Blind Trust Agreement submitted by James C. Justice, II, and the Commission's proposed Order. Representatives for Governor Justice, John Allevato and Brian Helmick, were present to answer questions of the Commission. After questions and discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Tweel that the Commission find that the trustee and trust submitted by Governor Justice meet the requirements of W.Va. Code § 6B-2-8 and that the Commission approve the qualified blind trust of Governor Justice. Commissioner Ireland gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Ms. Stepto to present Employment Exemption requests.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Stepto presented Employment Exemption 2017-02 requested by Edwin Clarkson, Technical Analyst, Public Service Commission, Gas Pipeline Safety Commission; Employment Exemption 2017-03 requested by Eric B. Hudnall, Director of Right of Way Division, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways; Employment Exemption 2017-04 requested by Patricia A. Hickman, Director of Division of Land Restoration, Department of Environmental Protection; Employment Exemption 2017-05 requested by William A. Youse, Technical Analyst, Public Service Commission; Employment Exemption 2017-06 requested by James Rubenstein, Commissioner of Division of Corrections; Employment Exemption 2017-07 requested by Michael Folio, Director of the Legal Division, Department of Transportation, Division

of Highways; Employment Exemption 2017-08 requested by Timothy J. Keller, Environmental Inspector, Department of Environmental Protection, and Employment Exemption 2017-09 requested by Joseph E. Hager II, Environmental Resources Analyst, Division of Mining and Reclamation, Department of Environmental Protection. After discussion, Commissioner Tweel made a motion that Employment Exemptions 2017-02, 2017-03, 2017-04, 2017-05, 2017-06, 2017-07, 2017-08 and 2017-09 be ratified. Commissioner Ireland gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Ms. Kirk to present proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-04 for consideration.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Kirk presented proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-04 to the Commission for consideration. After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Ireland to accept the proposed Advisory Opinion. Commissioner Tweel gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Ms. Weber to present proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-05.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Weber presented proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-05 to the Commission for consideration. After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Ireland to accept the proposed Advisory Opinion. Commissioner Tweel gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Mr. Knopp to present proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-06 for consideration.

WHEREUPON, Mr. Knopp presented proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-06 to the Commission for consideration. After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Ireland to accept the proposed Advisory Opinion. Commissioner Tweel gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Ms. Weber to present proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-07.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Weber presented proposed Advisory Opinion 2017-07 to the Commission for consideration. After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Ireland to accept the proposed Advisory Opinion. Commissioner Tweel gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe called upon Mr. Knopp to present proposed Contract Exemption 2017-01.

WHEREUPON, Mr. Knopp presented proposed Contract Exemption 2017-01 to the Commission for consideration. After discussion, a motion was made by

Commissioner Tweel to accept the proposed Contract Exemption. Commissioner Disibbio gave a second, and the motion carried with Commissioner Ireland opposed.

WHEREUPON, the Commission reviewed the P-Card monthly report for January. Commissioner Ireland moved and Commissioner Tweel seconded that the report be accepted. The motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Ms. Stepto reported that the 2016 lobbyist audit has been completed by Rowan & Associates. Mr. Rowan requested documentation from 35 randomly selected lobbyists to support the expenditures which they reported in the three Lobbyist Activity Reports filed for 2015. After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Tweel that no further activity is required by Mr. Rowan; that there is no information disclosed in the reports relating to lobbyist compensation or other information which is not required to be disclosed pursuant to W.Va. Code § 6B-3-1 et seq. and that the reports be deemed final. Commissioner Ireland gave a second, and the motion carried.

WHEREUPON, Chairperson Wolfe stated there were no more items for discussion.

WHEREUPON, Commissioner Ireland made a motion to adjourn, and Commissioner Tweel seconded. The motion passed, and the meeting was adjourned.

The foregoing minutes of the West Virginia Ethics Commission were approved at the April 6, 2017, meeting.

Robert J. Wolfe, Chairperson West Virginia Ethics Commission

ATTEST:

M. Ellen Briggs, Special Assistant to the Executive Director West Virginia Ethics Commission