# **West Virginia Ethics Commission**

## Meeting Minutes July 6, 2023

The July 6, 2023, meeting of the West Virginia Ethics Commission was called to order in the Commission's office at 210 Brooks Street, Charleston, West Virginia, at 10:00 a.m. by Chairperson Robert J. Wolfe. Commissioners and the public were invited to attend in person, via video link, and via telephone.

#### **Present**

Robert J. Wolfe, Commission chairperson
Joshua Cottle, Commission member (by telephone)
Lynn Davis, Commission member
Karen Disibbio, Commission member (by telephone)
Suzan Singleton, Commission member (by telephone)
Terry L. Walker, Commission member (by telephone)
Kimberly B. Weber, Executive Director
Theresa M. Kirk, General Counsel
Andrew R. Herrick, Staff Attorney
M. Ellen Briggs, Executive Assistant

#### **Absent**

Robert Harman, Commission member

## **Approve Minutes**

Ms. Singleton made a motion to approve the minutes of the Commission's June 1, 2023, meeting. Ms. Davis seconded the motion, which passed as follows:

Cottle – aye Davis – aye Disibbio – aye Singleton – aye Walker – aye Wolfe – aye

## **Recap of Previous Month**

Ms. Weber provided a summary of news and developments relating to the Ethics Commission during the previous month.

## **Employment Exemption Requests**

### EE 2023-36

Brian Martino, Tax and Revenue Auditor III, State Tax Department – Auditing Division

### EE 2023-37

Amber Foster, Resurfacing Office Manager, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-38

Joshua D. Spence, Chief Information Officer, West Virginia Office of Technology

#### EE 2023-39

Adam Layne, Transportation Engineering Technician LV III, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-40

Kelly A. Chapman, Regional Materials Control Coordinator, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

### EE 2023-41

Devin M. Piraino, Transportation Engineering Technician – Senior, Materials Office Coordinator, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

### EE 2023-42

Sarah Leigh Runyon, Assistant Director (Transportation Engineer Senior), Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-43

Chris K. Williams, Transportation Engineering Analyst – Traffic Signal Designer, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-44

Ryan M. Canfield, District 1 Area Construction Engineer (Acting D1 Construction Engineer), Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-45

Matthew J. Miller, District Surface Inspector, Office of Miners' Health, Safety, and Training

#### EE 2023-46

Deanna Winn, District 1 Evaluation Engineer, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-47

Andrew S. Mays, Transportation Engineer Trainee II, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

#### EE 2023-48

Kelly P. Blair, District Surface Inspector, Office of Miners' Health, Safety, and Training

### EE 2023-49

Tayler Thompson, Transportation Engineer, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

### EE 2023-50

Carrie L. Pugh, Transportation Appraiser Senior, Department of Transportation, Division of Highways

Ms. Davis moved that Employment Exemptions 2023-36 through 2023-50 be ratified. Ms. Singleton seconded the motion, which passed as follows:

Cottle – aye Davis – aye Disibbio – aye Singleton – aye Walker – aye Wolfe – aye

## **Advisory Opinion 2023-06**

Mr. Wolfe called upon Ms. Kirk to present <u>Advisory Opinion 2023-06</u> to the Commission for consideration. Ms. Kirk presented the proposed Advisory Opinion and responded to questions from the Commission. Ms. Singleton made a motion that the Advisory Opinion be approved as presented. Ms. Davis seconded the motion, which passed as follows:

Cottle – aye Davis – aye Disibbio – aye Singleton – aye Walker – aye Wolfe – aye

## **Advisory Opinion 2023-07**

Mr. Wolfe called upon Mr. Herrick to present <u>Advisory Opinion 2023-07</u> to the Commission for consideration. Mr. Herrick presented the proposed Advisory Opinion.

Ms. Davis made a motion that the Advisory Opinion be approved as presented. Ms. Disibbio seconded the motion, which passed as follows:

Cottle – aye
Davis – aye
Disibbio – aye
Singleton – aye
Walker – aye
Wolfe – aye

## **Approve P-card Monthly Reports**

The Commission reviewed the P-card monthly reports for May 2023. A motion was made by Ms. Singleton to approve the reports as presented. Ms. Davis seconded the motion, which passed as follows:

Cottle – aye Davis – aye Disibbio – aye Singleton – aye Walker – aye Wolfe – aye

# Adjournment

Ms. Singleton made a motion to adjourn, and Ms. Davis seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows, and the meeting was adjourned.

Cottle – aye Davis – aye Disibbio – aye Singleton – aye Walker – aye Wolfe – aye

The foregoing minutes of the West Virginia Ethics Commission were approved at the Commission's September 7, 2023, meeting.

Terry L. Walker, Acting Chairperson West Virginia Ethics Commission

ATTEST:

M. Ellen Briggs, Executive Assistant West Virginia Ethics Commission